It’s Crunch Time

Standard

I seriously almost forgot I still have this blog.  And here I am wanting to make a YouTube channel, too.  I don’t even know what’s wrong with me.

Oh yeah, I do.

I’M GOING TO JAPAN SOON.

communitypanic

itcrowdfire

Those were the most accurate representations of how I feel right now.

I think many other people are feeling this way, but everyone’s sort of keeping it to themselves while I’m over here like “I’m panicking, are you panicking? You’re not panicking? WHY AREN’T YOU PANICKING?” when they really are.

Okay, okay.  I’m not full-on PANICKING or anything.  But I am having emotions and feels and things I don’t want to deal with, and yet I have to deal with them.  Strangely, I’m not that worried about what will happen once I get there.  I’m more feeling like I’m not sure if I want this part of my life to be over yet.  As someone once said, all change involves pain.  Big changes sometimes involve big pain.

I just keep trying to remind myself that I am planning to come home for winter break, and I may decide not to stay another year.  I feel this approach works.  This is how I’ve been living my life since I graduated high school, and it’s worked out so far for me.

So, updates on JET stuff.

– I bought a crap ton of omiyage on Monday for my principals, vice-principals, and teachers.  Almost everything is edible.  If that’s one thing JET teaches you, it’s BUY EDIBLE OMIYAGE.  I also went to a local state park where there’s a gift shop and found some cool stuff I can give as gifts or show my students.

When I told the lady who runs the gift shop my purpose for buying things, she proceeded to load me down with some pamphlets, booklets, and coloring books about southern Kentucky.

See, children, southern Kentucky is different than northern Kentucky.  When I said this, the lady looked at me and said, “I know, right?”  Good to know someone is on the same wavelength.

– Bought everything else I needed i.e. toiletries to keep me good for a couple of months.  I’m one of these people that has weird toiletry needs like enamel toothpaste and special shampoo because I have a form of dermatitis on my scalp that affects mostly older men and babies.

JETlings, don’t be afraid to bring your own stuff for awhile.  Especially if you really need it.  I’m hoping while I’m using up what I have, I can find suitable alternatives for most things.

And if not, I’ll be living an hour away from Costco.

– Forgot indoor shoes.  I’m just going to buy a new pair of black flats.  I wear black flats for everything.  Got to go Thursday and get these.

– My parents will be using my old laptop with a working webcam on it, so I replaced the casing on it.  That was FUN.  I’m not even being sarcastic.  I didn’t realize that some things actually plugged into the case itself, so it was kind of fun taking it all apart and very carefully replacing everything and the screws.

The broken case is gone, but the software remains a mess.  Something to do tomorrow.

– State background check came in.  So I am cleared for landing…in Japan.

– My friend/JET sempai/new neighbor Geneva told me today that my new apartment is being cleaned out today.  THEY ARE PREPARING FOR MY ARRIVAL.

– I decided to buy some stuff from my predecessor.  I’m buying her bike (which is red and super cute and I’m really excited about it), kitchen stuff that includes rice cooker and oven, a 27-inch monitor (makeshift TV), and electric heater for $270.  I was going to buy her desk, too, but the girl moving into her apartment asked for it first.  That’s okay, I can live without a desk for awhile.

Now I just have to pay her…somehow…Paypal?  Haha, I don’t have money.

money

A few more days.  I really cannot think about it.  Denial is my friend.

But it’s nice knowing there’s a huge group of people all over the world that are having these same emotions.  And all the current JETs are like “Babies, ya’ll need to calm down.”

Future JETlings, please know that it’s okay to feel this way.  It’s okay to be super excited and ready for this new adventure.  It’s okay to be freaking out and hyperventilating and pulling the covers of your bed over your head to block out the world.  Eventually, though, we have to get on that plane and go to the new places in our lives.  And it’s going to be okay.  After all, we’re going on an adventure…

adventure

3 thoughts on “It’s Crunch Time

Bring Forth Your Comments!

