Four Weeks and Counting…*starts hyperventilating*

Standard

Okay, so.

Oh my gosh.

I’ve got four weeks left.  I can’t even put a number on it right now. Any time I think about it, I start freaking out inside.  It’s only going to get worse.

I know things will be fine.  They will be fine.  But there’s so much to do, and I’m going to miss my bed and my parents and America (even if it is a crappy nation sometimes).

So I finally got pretty much all of my information now.  It’s always right after I get super stressed out about it that I finally hear stuff.  So yay, I guess?  My potential predecessor is actually my predecessor.  It’s confirmed that I’m taking over for her and have three schools–two elementary and one junior high school.  I know the names of the schools and also that one elementary school is right next to the junior high school.  It’ll be at least a half hour commute every day.

The apartment I thought I was getting next to my friend Sara, aka my pred’s apartment, will not actually be mine.  This isn’t confirmed, but my pred heard that the other JET coming in with me will have her apartment.  So I’ll probably get the empty apartment next to my friend Geneva, which is more north in Kiyosato.

I’m actually kind of excited about this.  Basically, I’ll be getting a new apartment that probably will be furnished with a fridge, washing machine, and stove.  So those won’t have to be bought.  Everything else will have to be bought.

My pred wants to sell all of her stuff, but I can’t afford it.  Plus, I don’t want to buy everything.  I want to get my own stuff and make the apartment my own.  That way it can feel more like home.  Geneva also said I could borrow some things until I get my own.

You know, when I first applied for JET, I wanted Saitama so I would be so near my friends and would have to be more independent.  But now I’m really glad I’m near them.  It’ll make the transition a lot easier.  Plus, Geneva and I are probably going to split Internet. BONUS!

I’m also talking to the English-speaking mechanic in Yamanashi about buying a car.  He’s been very helpful, and he sent me some car options in my price range.  There’s one that’s around $1100 and doesn’t need insurance renewal until next October.  It’s a smaller car, but it’ll be something I can get around in.  We’ll see what the options are when I get there.

Not much else to report on this end.  Started buying stickers for my students this weekend.  I’ve got to work on omiyage and the rest of the stuff I need before I leave.

Plus, I still haven’t finished subbing Algernon.  I’m such a procrastinator…

One thought on “Four Weeks and Counting…*starts hyperventilating*

Bring Forth Your Comments!

